BAD XSP Battery wanted - dead batteries wanted

Discussion in 'Classifieds' started by chris.jackson, Aug 14, 2018.

1. #1 chris.jackson, Aug 14, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2018
    I want dead, no good, non-functional, will not charge, no good to you, X-Star batteries to experiment with.

I was a Systems Engineer who installed and serviced automation and robitics nation wide. I was involved in industrial maintenance in the aerospace industry before that.

I want to tear a few X-Star batteries apart, dispose of the original LiPo battery, and do some testing. As they are glued together and not intended to be serviced, I will probably destroy a few housings getting them open and possibly electronics experimenting with different batteries. I will need parts to assemble prototypes to test.

My goal is to find, or assemble, a replacemant battery that will fit into the Autel battery housing. The battery will be assembled from off the shelf individual cells (e.g. 18650 type). If not inside, possibly a 2 battery modification to be mounted externally on the drone. Either way, I want to get ahead of a future with no available batteries and a perfectly operational drone.

I do not intend or desire to make a better lithium battery, or charger. I don't plan to develop anything.
    I plan to search for a solution that is already there. It probably already exists, I'm just trying to find it and apply it to our needs.

Connecting several off the shelf batteries to achieve the proper voltage and amperage isn't rocket science, it's done in laptops, cordless tools and many other applications.

There's no need to re-invent the wheel.

So if anyone has any dead, no good to you anyway, batteries they would donate to the cause, I would love to have them.

If I do happen to find a solution, I will share the results of my tests with battery types, part numbers and vendors info.