Crash - Tales from the Dark Side

Discussion in 'X-Star / X-Star Premium' started by John McKay, Jul 19, 2017.

1. I'm a newbie. Just crashed my X Star. This was a "kick me" crash. I was running low on battery as I was walking with the drone. My goal was to get about fifteen feet further to land the aircraft, but the auto return kicked in. I was under trees and the X Star flew up into the trees as it tried to get altitude. The crash resulted in a broken camera connector. It is still usable but does need replacement. Also dislocated a gimbal pin and tore a grommet. I am posting just to re-enforce to newbies landing the craft before batteries get too low. I was on the 4-5 minute mark.

I did try to pause the RTH but to no avail. I managed to get it on the ground right side up but it took off again to gain altitude to return home. Nasty, but not permanent damage as far as I can tell. I am thinking I will order some extra extra spare replacement kits...! Having fun anyway! :)

2. Well John it was luck in your bad luck, I read if once on the ground you can bring both sticks at their lower outside position and the motors will quit right there, also useful if the craft slips on its side to stop the propellers that are still turning. All this is easier said than done sitting on my sofa waiting for my new X-Star to arrive next Monday.

Good Luck

Norm

3 people like this.
  3. I am with you.... :) I enjoy the X Star so much I just ordered replacement parts for the legs, small parts, propellers and uv filter just to have on hand. I almost got a spare body but decided I can wait since I have a phantom to keep me busy if I really mess up. But all in all I am writing it off to learning about my go to X Star.