Flight Status Bar

Discussion in 'X-Star / X-Star Premium' started by bjtap, Jun 30, 2017.

1. I am a definite newbie at this and need more information on the flight status 'icon'. I have checked the manual (page 40) and a few you-tube videos but can't find what I need to know. What information I get is the arrow shows the yaw or direction the craft is facing. Facing compared to what? I stand directly behind the craft and the arrow points off to a side, not straight up (or forward) like I would expect. So what exactly is the direction or yaw of the craft being compared to? I am concerned as I begin to get more 'brave' and send the craft out to further and further distances that I will not be able to manually return to home. How would I use the flight status to orient and return the craft to home manually? Thanks

2. Newbie here as well.

Are you talking about the small circle in the top center of the screen with the goldish colored delta wing in it? The wing turns as the craft yaws?

If so, after you launch and move horizontally off the launch point the symbol moves from the center of the circle. Now you can see a white dot in the center. That dot represents your launch point. I only look at this feature if my drone is a distance away and I want to know if it's pointing toward "home" or away. So for example if I'm flying over terrain I'm not familiar with and I am ready to come home I yaw the drone until the symbol is pointing at the white circle and joystick forward movement. To verify I check my horizontal distance from home and ensure it's getting smaller.

Sorry I can't be more "technical" in my descriptions.... :)

3. ovrszd:

I believe you answered my question very well. The next time I am out flying I will look for that white dot. Then it makes sense to yaw until symbol is pointing at white dot and using forward motion... and btw, I would not have understood a more 'technical' description. Yours was extremely USABLE! Thank you. Barry

4. No problem Barry.