How difficult is it to control a drone?

Discussion in 'General' started by asilnais86, May 28, 2016.

1. I've never had one or known anyone who has one so I'm interested, how difficult is it to fly one? I would be so scared of smashing it into the ground!

2. I was wandering the same thing. I've heard the batteries on the small ones die quickly, and the drones come crashing down. I'm not very coordinated, and I'm not sure how good I'd be with it.

3. I wonder how sturdy they are, like can they withstand a crash? It would be pretty upsetting if you spent all that money on one and then broke it.

4. I was thinking the same thing. I thought about buying a cheaper one first to try it out. I can only imagine I would crash several times since I'm new to it. I was wondering is it similar to flying a remote controlled helicopter or something?

5. I've never flown a remote control helicopter either but I've heard that they are pretty difficult to control. Getting a cheaper one first seems like a good idea, what sort of prices have you seen for the lower end ones?

6. From what I have read and seen, it's basically just controlling a toy plane. But then again, it is pretty expensive, one drone alone can reach to the thousand dollar mark, and you DEFINITELY do not want to break in on your first try. But it's a hazard that comes with something that is remotely controlled and has to fly to different obstacles, while being able to land perfectly without any problems. Good luck, and I hope you don't break it on the first try, because these things are insanely expensive!

7. Bigger more expensive camera drones come with GPS autopilot assist, and are very easy to fly. Smaller toy quadcopters and racing drones are substantially harder to fly because there is no autopilot.