Video Lags and Stutters - Need Better Tablet?

Discussion in 'General' started by LabRat1957, Jan 30, 2018.

1. I'm using a dedicated Samsung Galaxy Tab A, 7-inch for my video device. Lately however I'm noticing more video lagging and stuttering while flying no matter where I am. At times there is a second or two of lag. I don't seem to recall this on my first few flights or perhaps I just didn't notice. I'm thinking the device is the problem in that it doesn't process the feed fast enough. Should I get a better tablet device with a faster processor? Would this eliminated the lagging? I also want to dedicate the device to the XSP and StarLink only (or at least mostly), so I don't want most of the apps it comes with running or the device constantly updating and loading stuff on its own. Can I delete or disable the pre-loaded apps safely? I'm not tech savvy with these things so I'm looking to the group for opinions and advice on how to get a smooth video live view, and suggestions for good but rather inexpensive ($300 - $500.00 range). Right now I'm thinking about a Galaxy Tab S3 or equivalent, and even though I'm not an Apple fan, an iPad Mini or something like it would also do.

Thanks!

2. There are a few people in here and the other forum that use that tablet and I don't recall anyone having that issue. If you are looking to upgrade I know that the people using the Nvidia Shield K1 have nothing but great things to say about it. If you are lucky enough to find one. I hear the screen is very bright as well. It also has an hdmi port so in the future if you decided to get FPV, goggles it would work.

3. LabRat: Hi. Like you, I also see no need to pay double for a device (apple) when a non-apple device will perform just as well. I don't think that the 'delay' is due to your device. In fact, the symptoms sound the same as what you would get when there is video interference.